Synergy and Convergence

I just saw a commercial for an interesting-sounding movie, called The Odd Life of Timothy Green, about a boy who is born out of his parents’ wishes and the Earth. That is all I know about the movie.

But that reminded me of a short story I wrote a couple of years ago, about a girl born of Water and her parents’ wishes. How neat is that?

They say that ideas flow until they meet in a node and while in that node many people combine these ideas into similar constructs. So it was with Darwin and Wallace, so it is with many literary works. It has happened many times to me and tonight it happened again.

I can’t help but smile.

 

 

I called my story A Pril o’ the Thirst. It is a Jack tale, only the main character is April. And yes I wrote it to be read at the March 31, 2010, meeting of the Write Group, the closest meeting to April 1 of that year.

The premise is that during a severe drought, the girl was born of the last bit of Water to a miller and his wife, who lived in a water-mill at the edge of a village. The girl, made of wish and magic, spreads magic and hope during her “typical-Jack” adventures. But she is also made of Water and upon her death, after a short life, Water returns to the village.

It is not coincidence that I equated the name April with Jack, nor that I thought of writing a Jack story for April Fool’s Day. I took a Storytelling course in 2004 from Gail de Vos at the University of Alberta. One of her grad students converted a Jack story into a contemporary April story to celebrate the approach of April 1 in 2004. All I can remember of that story is that it involved highrises and the Edmonton river valley. Yet the synergy of Jack, April and April 1 made an impression on me.

A Pril o’ the Thirst was a fun tale to write. I look forward to watching The Odd Life of Timothy Green when it comes out.

What do you think about idea nodes and converging creations? Have you ever experienced similar phenomena?

What do you think? I would love to hear from you.

